Still in Carcassonne – an update…

Market day in the town square

Well, Carcassonne still has me under its spell or perhaps I should say, I’m a prisioner here of my own device. I had planned to move on to Sete a few days ago but as all the modestly priced hotels are booked solid, so I decided to remain here and take in the atmosphere of a town that may one day become home.

The other evening, I heard a wonderful concert of early English choral music in a church just below the cité walls. The music of Byrd and Tallis filled the Gothic space and transported me back five-hundred years to a time when the English still believed France belonged to them. The music however was without political motive and as the musical lines soared and weaved through and around each other the audience was drawn in into a world of colour and light.

A great spot for an evening meal

At the time, the English and French languages were much closer, so the highly accented intonation of the choir was probably closer to the sound-world of the original than renditions by English choirs… Anyway, the point is made that I had a great evening.

Today, is market day in the square and there you will find local producers bringing in their peaches and nectarines, corgettes and sun-dried tomatoes. Soon, I will wander off to the road of the

Tomatoes, not my favourite food but a good picture

Tanners where the Restaurant Cathar will be serving lunch. perhaps I will have the lamb or perhaps a steak, washed down by a half-bottle of the local red wine…

Ah! Life could be worse…

Tomorrow morning I catch the train to Toulouse and the following day fly on to the next leg of my journey, Greece.

About stevehollier

Steve Hollier is the editor of AZ Magazine, an English language lifestyle magazine based in Baku, Azerbaijan. He began his career working for a firm of stockbrokers in the City of London then went on to attend the University of Essex where he was awarded an MA in Sociology in 1984. After a career in arts and cultural development work, he became a freelance arts consultant, writer and photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

